Patanjali’s Eight Limbs of Yoga

When you first take up yoga you might begin thinking it is a physical workout, however, you may also be aware that there is a spiritual aspect to the practice too. The philosophy of yoga is a vast subject dating back several thousand years.

The classical text, The Yoga Sutras of Patanjali, was written approximately two thousand years ago, and offers us philosophical guidance for personal growth and transformation.

The Eight Limbs are:

1. The Five Yamas – Moral Restraints
– Ahimsa (non-harming)
– Satya (truthfulness)
– Asteya (non-stealing)
– Brahmacharya (moderation)
– Aparigraha (freedom from greed/grasping)

2. The Five Niyamas – Observances
– Saucha (purity)
– Santosha (contentment)
– Tapas (self-discipline)
– Svadyaya (self-study)
– Ishvara Pranidhana (surrender to Absolute)

3. Asana (physical postures)

4. Pranayama (control of breath/life force energy)

5. Pratyahara (turning inwards)

6. Dharana (one-pointed focus)

7. Dhyana (meditation)

8. Samadhi (enlightenment)

More to come on each of the Eight Limbs….